Susanne Strobl

film and musical theater director, 

screenwriter, librettist,

animator, producer, 

opera singer, actress.

SHORT VITA

After a one-year scholarship in San Francisco Susanne studied graphic design at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna, the city of her birth. She graduated B.A. (mag.art.). Since then she has been working as a freelance film director, screenwriter and animator on Austrian and international film and TV productions. Her movies and short films were invited to international film festivals and received several awards.

She also trained as a professional opera singer and is experienced as a soloist. For three years she has been living in Brussels where she presented her first opera and musical theater productions as a stage director, wrote an opera libretto and continued her filmic work. From 2009 to 2015 she produced and directed several documentaries in HD-format. In 2015 she started working on the screenplay to a feature film planed to be realized in 2021. She is living and working in Vienna.

VITA

After a one-year scholarship in San Francisco 1983-84 Susanne studied graphic design, illustration and photography at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. Her main focus was on animated film. She graduated B.A. (mag.art.) in 1989. Her partly animated short film „Egon kommt“ („Egon is Coming“) opened her the doors to international film festivals, such as the renowned Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film, and to the film industry. Her second short film „Salut Bambine!“ - A Comic-Strip with Real People, with only a minor animated part in it, had its world premiere at  the Viennale in Vienna and opened the Hiroshima International Animation Festival 1994 where it was presented in the “Best of the World“ - program. She had the lead in both of the short films, both short films were awarded prizes, such as the audience award of the Women's Film Festival „Silence, elles tournent!“ in Montreal. In 1994 she also wrote the screenplay to the children's mysterie „The Knickerbocker Gang: The Talking Grave“  which became the most successful Austrian children’s movie (co-writers: Thomas Brezina, Milan Dor). Subsequently she worked as a screenwriter and director on further film projects.

In 1996 she started her vocal training and received her diploma in professional opera singing in 1999. First, as a singer of the Arnold Schoenberg-Choir she sang concerts conducted by Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Riccardo Muti, Kent Nagano, and acted and sang in opera productions such as “Saint Francois d’Assise” (Messiaen) directed by Peter Sellars at the Salzburg Festival 1998, the world premiere of “Cronaca del Luogo” (Berio) directed by Claus Guth at the Salzburg Festival 1999 and „Carmen“ (Bizet) directed by Andrea Breth. Then, as a soprano soloist she was on tour through Germany (Rosengarten Mannheim et al.) with the Viennese operetta “The Gypsy Baron" (Johann Strauss II) and was heard in recitals and concerts with a repertoire of classical arias and Lieder in Austria, Germany and Belgium.

In 2001 she moved to Brussels where she participated in workshops for opera directing with Willy Decker, Keith Warner und Christoph Loy at the Brussels Opera “La Monnaie”. Thereafter she put the musical “L’Homme de la Mancha” ("Man of La Mancha", french version) on stage for the Théâtre de la Balsamine and the Théâtre Molière in Brussels (27 performances 2003-2008, show reopened in 2019). She also realized a documentary about the effects of globalization on women for the worldwide feminist network WIDE headquartered in Brussels which was produced to foster and support the political education and work of women worldwide.

Back in Vienna she first directed the Four Virgins in the famous orgy scene of “Moses und Aron” (Schoenberg) at the Vienna State Opera (directors: Willy Decker/ Reto Nickler). In 2006 her opera libretto "Under Milk Wood“ had its world premiere at the Tyrolean Capital Theater in Innsbruck, Austria. From 2009 to 2015 she produced and directed several documentaries in HD-format. In 2015 she started working on the screenplay to a her debut feature as a director planed to be relized in 2021. She is living and working in Vienna.

mag. ART Susanne Strobl

Film- und Musiktheaterregisseurin,

Drehbuchautorin, Librettistin,

Animationsfilmerin, Produzentin,

Sängerin und Schauspielerin.

KURZVITA

Susanne Strobl studierte, nach einem einjährigen Stipendium in San Francisco, Grafikdesign an der Universität für angewandte Kunst in ihrer Geburtsstadt Wien, wo sie auch ihr Diplom erhielt (mag.art.). Seitdem arbeitet sie als freie Filmregisseurin, Drehbuchautorin und Filmanimatorin für Film und Fernsehen an österreichischen und internationalen Produktionen. Ihre Filme wurden zu internationalen Filmfestivals eingeladen und erhielten mehrere Preise.

In einem Parallelunterfangen absolvierte sie eine Gesangsausbildung im Fach Oper, sammelte dann Bühnenerfahrung als Solistin und lebte mehrere Jahre in Brüssel, wo sie ihre ersten Musiktheaterinszenierungen präsentierte, ein Opernlibretto schrieb und ihre filmischen Arbeiten fortsetzte. 

Von 2009 bis 2015 produzierte und drehte sie vornehmlich Dokumentarfilme zu gesellschaftlichen Themen. 2015 zugleich Beginn der Arbeit am Drehbuch zu ihrem für 2021 geplanten Kino-Langspielfilm-Regiedebüt. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Wien.

VITA

Susanne Strobl studierte, nach einem einjährigen Stipendium in San Francisco 1983-84, Grafik, Illustration und Fotografie an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, mit Schwerpunkt Trickfilm. 1989 absolvierte sie ihre Diplomprüfung (mag.art.) mit dem Realfilm und teilweise animierten Kurzfilm „Egon kommt“, der ihr den Weg zu internationalen Filmfestivals, etwa dem renommierten Internationalen Trickfilm-Festival Stuttgart, und der Filmbranche öffnete. Ihr zweiter Kurzfilm „Salut Bambine“ - Ein Real-Comic, ebenfalls ein Realfilm, mit geringem Anteil 3D-Folientrick, hatte seine Uraufführung bei der Viennale und eröffnete das Hiroshima International Animation Festival, wo er im „Best of the world“ - Programm lief. In beiden Kurzfilmen spielt sie die Hauptrolle selbst, beide Kurzfilme erhielten Preise, u.a. den Publikumspreis in Montréal – „Silence, elles tournent!“. 1994 schrieb sie das Drehbuch (Koautoren: Thomas Brezina, Milan Dor) zum erfolgreichsten österreichischen Kinokinderfilm „Die Knickerbockerbande: Das sprechende Grab“. 

1996 begann sie ihre Gesangsausbildung, die sie 1999 mit der Bühnenreife im Fach Oper abschloss. Zuerst als Sängerin des Arnold Schoenberg-Chors, sang sie Konzerte dirigiert von Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Riccardo Muti, Kent Nagano, und spielte und sang in Opernproduktionen wie „Saint François d’Assise“ (Messiaen, Regie Peter Sellars) und die Uraufführung von „Cronaca del Luogo“ (Berio, Regie Claus Guth) bei den Salzburger Festspielen 1998 und 1999, und „Carmen“ (Bizet, Regie Andrea Breth) bei der Styriarte. Danach als Solistin, war sie 1999/ 2000 mit der Operette „Der Zigeunerbaron“ (Johann Strauss (Sohn)) in der Partie der Arsena auf Deutschlandtournee (Rosengarten Mannheim u.a.) und gab Liederabende und Opernkonzerte mit klassischem Repertoire in Österreich, Deutschland und Belgien.

2001 zog sie für drei Jahre nach Brüssel, wo sie an Opernregieworkshops an der Brüsseler Oper „La Monnaie“ mit Willy Decker, Keith Warner und Christoph Loy teilnahm und das Musical „L'Homme de la Mancha“ für das belgische Musiktheaterensemble „Les Colyriques“ am Théâtre de la Balsamine (u.a.) inszenierte, für das sie auch das Bühnenbild entwarf. Von 2003 bis 2008 bestritt das Ensemble 27 Vorstellungen, 2019 wurde das Musical in dieser Inszenierung am Théâtre Molière wiederaufgenommen. In Brüssel realistierte sie auch einen Dokumentarfilm für das entwicklungspolitische feministische Netzwerk WIDE über die Auswirkungen der Globalisierung auf Frauen weltweit, der weltweit zur Unterstützung und Schulung von Frauen eingesetzt wird.

Zurück in Wien inszenierte sie zunächst Detailszenen (Vier Jungfrauen) bei Schönbergs „Moses und Aron“ an der Wiener Staatsoper (Regie Willy Decker/ Reto Nickler). Ihr Opernlibretto „Under Milk Wood“ wurde 2006 am Tiroler Landestheater in Innsbruck uraufgeführt. Von 2009 bis 2015 produzierte und drehte sie Dokumentarfilme zu gesellschaftlichen Themen, die hauptsächlich als Bildungsfilme Einsatz finden. 2015 zugleich Beginn der Arbeit am Drehbuch zu ihrem für 2021 geplanten Kino-Langspielfilm-Regiedebüt.